the team

We value all enquiries and we will endeavour to get back to you as soon as we can, but before contacting us, have you checked our frequently asked questions?  You may well find the answer to your query there.  You can also read the competition rules and entry instructions.

Bridport Prize Administrator: Kate Wilson

Bridport Prize Online Administrator: Victoria Bennion


Principal poetry reader: Candy Neubert

Principal short story reader: Helen Chaloner

Principal flash fiction reader: Jon Wyatt

Principal novel reader: Harry Gallon


Poetry judge: Lemn Sissay 

Short story Judge: Peter Hobbs

Flash fiction judge: Kit de Waal

The Peggy Chapman-Andrews Award for a first novel judge: Nathan Filer


Please note: judges and readers are unable to enter into any discussions regarding submissions.

“Receiving a telephone call out of the blue to be told that I had come third in the Bridport Prize was a heart stopping, mouth stopping moment that took more than the rest of the day to sink in, knowing how significant in a writer’s world, this prize has become”.

Graham Burchell (UK) 3rd Prize, poetry competition 2017

What now?

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates