Here you will find details and biographies of our wonderful judges from the past few years 

2017 Judges

2016 Judges   |   2015 Judges   |   2014 Judges   |   2013 Judges

2012 Judges   |   2011 Judges   |   2010 Judges   |   2009 Judges   

2008 Judges   |   2007 Judges   |   2006 Judges   |   2005 Judges    

2004 Judges   |   2003 Judges   |   2002 Judges

JUDGES (from 1988)


YEAR              POETRY                                 SHORT STORY                    FLASH FICTION

1988               Lawrence Sail                      Martin Booth

1989               Philip Gross                         Alexis Lykiard

1990               John Mole                             Margaret Drabble

1991               Owen Davies                       Philip Glazebrook

1992               Helen Dunmore                  Martin Booth

1993               Roger Garfitt                        Peter Benson

1994               Lawrence Sail                      Brian McCabe

1995               Selima Hill                            Alexis Lykiard

1996               Glyn Maxwell                       Michael Dobbs

1997               Paul Hyland                          Martin Booth

1998               Roger Garfitt                        Charlotte Bingham

1999               Tobias Hill                             Peter Benson

2000               George Szirtes                     Lynne Reid Banks

2001               Maura Dooley                      Kate Atkinson

2002               Jo Shapcott                           Tobias Hill

2003               U A Fanthorpe                      Rose Tremain

2004               Paul Farley                            Jim Crace

2005               Andrew Motion                    Maggie Gee

2006               Lavinia Greenlaw                 Jane Gardam

2007               Don Paterson                       Tracy Chevalier

2008               David Harsent                      Helen Simpson

2009               Jackie Kay                              Ali Smith

2010               Michael Laskey                    Zoë Heller                            Zoë Heller

2011               Carol Ann Duffy                   A L Kennedy                        A L Kennedy

2012               Gwyneth Lewis                    Patrick Gale                         Patrick Gale

2013               Wendy Cope                        Michèle Roberts                  David Swann

2014               Liz Lochhead                        Andrew Miller                     Tania Hershman

2015               Roger McGough                  Jane Rogers                         David Gaffney  

2016               Patience Agbabi                  Tessa Hadley                       Tim Stevenson

2017               Lemn Sissay                         Peter Hobbs                        Kit de Waal

"The Bridport Prize is one of the most prestigious poetry awards in the UK, and I was thrilled and delighted - as well as amazed - when I got a phone call to say that I'd won. Writing is a lonely business, always with that uneasy feeling that the finished product may not be worth the effort expended on it. So winning a competition like the Bridport is a huge boost to the confidence, a validation and acknowledgement of your work that encourages you to go on writing. It's both a humbling and enriching experience.  Entering competitions has always been a 'road travelled in hope' rather than with any expectation of arriving at the finishing line. So to other writers I'd say - go for it. You may just win!"

Kathy Miles (UK) first prize, poetry competition 2015

What now?

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates