2007 shortlists

poetry   |   short story


Poetry Shortlist (in no particular order)

Alan Stubbs, Carlisle

Norah Hanson, Hull, E Yorks

Mollie Russell-Smith, Beckenham, Kent

Justin Naylor, Brighton

Simone Mansell Broome, Llandusul, Carms

Diane Tang, Pinner, Middlesex

Eamonn Graal, Manchester

Malcom Watson, Hull, E Yorks

Richard Halperin, Paris

Alex Fox, Leeds

David Grubb, Henley-on-Thames, Oxon

E Hinshelwood, Ammanford, Carms

Trudie Shannon, Pleudaniel, France

Ryan van Winkle, Edinburgh

Richard Lambert, Bristol

Martin Hayden, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Alicia Yerburgh, London

Chris Woods, Bury, Lancs

Kathryn Maris, London

Alan Dunnett, London

Elizabeth Moore, Alton, Hants

Ian Salkey, Abbots Langley, Herts

VivienneTregenza Reid, Penzance, Cornwall

Ursula DeYoung, Oxford

Keith Hilling, Swindon, Wilts

Maryanne Perkins, Richmond, Surrey

Gerald Turnbull, Guildford, Surrey

P J Merrington, Western Cape, S Africa

Kate Rhodes, Ipswich, Suffolk

Heather Richardson, Belfast

Kate Miller, London

Pat Borthwick, Sheriff Hutton, N Yorks

Sandy Fitts, Fitzroy, Australia

Anna Woodford, Newcastle-upon-Tyne

Anna Davis, Whittinghame, E Lothian

Lucy Ingrams, London

Wendy Klein, Pangbourne, Berks

Victoria Pugh, Reading, Berks

Stella Williams, Stafford, Staffs

Patrick Brandon, London

Katherine Anderson, Oxord & New York, USA

Marianne Burton, London

Michael Henry, Cheltenham

John Kay, Bournemouth

John Kay, Bournemouth

Christopher Southgate, Chagford, Devon

Jemma Borg, Rusthall, Kent

Ian Starsmore, Wood Dalling, Norfolk

Clare Best, Lewes, W Sussex

Howard Wright, Portadown, N Ireland

Stephen Duncan, London

Jackie Galley, Caerlaverock, Dumfries

John Hubbard, Bournemouth

Adele Davide, London

Katherine Pierpoint, Harbledown, Kent

Howard Sargeant, Falkirk

S Terrington, Middlesex

Giles Ford, London

Phil Poole, London

David Price, Reading, Berks

Pru Kitching, Co Durham

John Richmond, London

Paul Julien, London

Martin Reed, Malvern, Worcs

Ann Sansom, Sheffield

Robert Powell, Wakefield, Yorks

Agnes Lehoczky, Norwich

Pauline Keith, Lancaster

C M Dunhill, London

Robert Butler, Bexleyheath, Kent

Barry Dempster, Ontario, Canada

David Krump, USA

Claudia Daventry, Amsterdam

Lydia Macpherson, Babraham, Cambs

Jonathan Hadwen, Queensland, Australia

Russell Jones, Much Wenlock, Shropshire

Julian Zytnik, Hahndorf, S Australia

Fiona Stevenson, Co Kildare, Eire

Sarah Simpson-Enock, London

Maria McMillan, Wellington, New Zealand

Floyd E Batchleder, AL, USA

James Sutherland-Smith, Belgrade, Serbia

Roger Mitchell, New York, USA

Graham Clifford, London

Jonathan Asser, London

Caroline Bird, Hampton, Middlesex

Jacqui Rowe, Birmingham

Pippa Little, Cramlington, Northumberland

Suzanne McArdle, Leeds

Rachel Curzon, Andover, Hants

Andrew Slattery, NSW, Australia

Mark Jermy, Evenly, Northamptonshire

Eoghan Naughton, Co Galway, Eire

Casey Jones, London

Tim Kenny, Bury, Lancs

Sarah McGarry, Exeter, Devon

Anthony Hughes, New York, USA

Benjamin Morris, Cambridge

Cristina Newton, Swindon, Wilts

Adam Crothers, Belfast

Shavonne Johnson, Indianapolis, USA

Hilary J Murray, Leeds

Kevin McGimpsey

Liz Gallagher, Gran Canaria, Spain

Claire Collinson, London

Laila Farnes, Nittedal, Norway

Sarah Darby, Kidlington, Oxon

Veronica Gaylie, Vancouver BC, Canada


Short Story Shortlist (in no particular order)

Mario Petrucci, Enfield, Essex

Heather Mulkey, Cobham, Surrey

Suzanne Ahern, Waterlooville, Hants

John Bakewell, Droitwich, Worcs

Martin Cooper, Blandford Forum, Dorset

Stephanie Norgate, Midhurst, W Sussex

Penelope Randall, Altrincham, Cheshire

Andrea Owen, London

Wayne Price, Aberdeen

Pippa Gladhill, Bath

Jenny Knight, Tasburgh, Norfolk

Cath Ferguson, Edinburgh

Eve Thomson, Edinburgh

Huw Lawrence, Aberystwyth

Nichola Bendall, Chichester, W Sussex

Frances Merivale, London

Layla O"Mara, Dublin

Matthew Wright, Shetland

Adrian Dorris, Oregon, USA

Jon Bauer, Victoria, Australia

Guinevere Glasfurd-Brown,Elmswell

Andrew Bridgmont, London

Jess Powell, Broseley, Shropshire

Stacey Hamilton, Wellington, New Zealand

Karen Onojaife, London

David Brown, Aukland, New Zealand

Rob Pateman, London

Terence Young, Victoria BC, Canada

Zoe Bishop, Sydney, Australia

Paul Duffy, Dublin

Fred McGavran, Ohio, USA

Jo Lloyd, Oxford

Anne Bronston, California, USA

Glynis Charlton, Hull, E Yorks

Alison Irvine, Glasgow

back to the top


“Winning the Bridport has been a delight and an honour. Venerable and international, it is the prize writers long to win.  But I almost didn’t enter. ‘Cut Loose’, which emerged from the memory of a creaky little room at the top of a shed in Denver, a room seen once but never forgotten, was a story I thought readers might find too strange and uncomfortable. I dithered, then submitted it just hours before the deadline in May.

"On prize giving day, which was a glorious occasion, I spoke to contest readers,  judges, administrators... and was struck by how much care and rigour goes into the process of selection and how committed the prize is to supporting writers. The first prize win was tremendously affirming."

Wendy Brandmark (UK) winner, Short Story competition 2016

What now?

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates