Tim Stevenson - Flash Fiction Judge
shares his thoughts on what makes great flash fiction. Small things and revelations – the details of flash-fiction.
Poetry Judge 2016: Patience Agbabi
"I’m looking for poems that yield on more than one level, that continue to echo long after they’re read.”
Short Story Judge 2016: Tessa Hadley
“I'll be looking for that crucial something - in the detail, in the language, in the thought - which makes me feel that the story has its own truth"
Now Available - the Bridport Prize anthology 2016
Be the first to read the winning poems, short stories and flash fiction in our newly published anthology
PC-A Novel Award Judge 2016: Kerry Young
Kerry Young, judge of the Peggy Chapman-Andrews Award for a first novel, explains her love of research and its importance in creating believable fiction.

welcome to
the Bridport Prize

“Mention the Bridport Prize and the eyes of writers everywhere light up. It's not just the money - though that's not to be sneezed at - it's a prize really worth fighting for in terms of prestige and genuine literary accomplishment” 

Fay Weldon CBE, Honorary Patron of the Bridport Prize

Our mission

The mission of the Bridport Prize is to encourage emerging writers and promote literary excellence through its competition structure.

The Bridport Prize was founded by Bridport Arts Centre in 1973 and has steadily grown in stature and prestige. Right from the start the competition attracted entries from all parts of the UK and from overseas.

Over £16,000 in prize money

One of the richest writing competitions in the UK, the Bridport Prize is open to all nationalities aged 16 years and over.

The poem and short story categories each have a first prize of £5,000, second prize £1,000 and third prize £500. An additional 10 supplementary prizes (for each category) of £100 each are awarded.

A new category for flash fiction with a prize of £1,000 was launched in 2010. There is a second prize of £500, 3rd prize of £250 and 3 supplementary prizes of £100.

In 2014 the Peggy Chapman-Andrews first novel award, named after the Prize’s founder, was launched. The first prize is £1,000 plus a up to a year’s mentoring from The Literary Consultancy through their Chapter & Verse scheme. A runner-up prize of £500 is also offered. Three shortlisted writers will receive £100.

The Dorset Award is a prize specifically for Dorset writers. Thanks to the sponsorship of The Book Shop of Bridport, £100 is awarded to the highest placed Dorset writer in the Bridport Prize each year.